top of page
  • Writer's pictureHopkins View

Johns Hopkins Leadership

Our best ideas are yet to come.

Ronald J. Daniels took office in March 2009 as the 14th president of Johns Hopkins University. Before his appointment at Johns Hopkins, Daniels was provost at the University of Pennsylvania, and before that, dean and James M. Tory Professor of Law at the University of Toronto Faculty of Law.

Daniels is the author or co-author of dozens of scholarly articles and the author or editor of seven books. In 2009, he was elected a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He sits on the boards of the East Baltimore Development Inc., the Baltimore Community Foundation, the Goldseker Foundation, the Maryland Chamber of Commerce, the Governor’s International Advisory Council, and the Asia Pacific Rim Universities World Institute.

In May 2013, after several years of discussions with faculty and students, staff and alumni, deans and trustees, Daniels unveiled “Ten by Twenty.” This set of four major priorities, grouped by themes, is guiding the university through the remainder of the decade. To take a look at how the university is doing as it approaches this milepost, visit for progress reports, success stories, and where Johns Hopkins is striving to do more to move the needle.

10 By 2020

One University

1. Selectively invest in those programs and activities that will advance significantly our core academic mission.

2. Strengthen our capacity for faculty-led interdisciplinary collaboration and launch a set of innovative cross-cutting initiatives that will contribute substantially to the world of ideas and action.

3. Enhance the impact of Johns Hopkins Medicine, the Bloomberg School of Public Health, and the School of Nursing, as the world’s pre-eminent academic health sciences enterprise by deepening collaboration among these entities and with disciplines in other parts of the university and across the globe.

Individual Excellence

4. Build Johns Hopkins’ undergraduate experience so it stands among the top 10 in the nation.

5. Build on our legacy as America’s first research university by ensuring that at least two-thirds of our Ph.D. programs stand among the top 20 in their fields.

6. Attract the very best faculty and staff in the world through a welcoming and inclusive environment that values performance and celebrates professional achievement.

Commitment to Our Communities

7. Enhance and enrich our ties to Baltimore, the nation, and the world, so that Johns Hopkins becomes the exemplar of a globally engaged urban university.

Institution Building

8. Strengthen the institutional, budgetary, technological, and policy frameworks necessary to set priorities, allocate resources, and realize the highest standards of academic excellence. 9. Reinforce our position as the leading university recipient of competitively funded federal research support, while increasing the amount of annual research investment from other sources with appropriate cost recovery.

10. Develop the resource base necessary to support investments in key academic priorities.


President’s Cabinet

Kerry A. Ates – Vice President, Chief of Staff

Branville Bard Jr. – Vice President for Public Safety

Helene T. Grady – Vice President, Chief Financial Officer, and Treasurer

Andrew A. Green – Vice President for Communications

Laurent Heller – Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration

Jeanne Hitchcock – Interim Vice President for Government and Community Affairs

Pierre D. Joanis – Vice President for Human Resources

Sunil Kumar – Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Melissa Lindamood – Interim Vice President for Federal Strategy

Maureen S. Marsh – Secretary, Board of Trustees

Robert A. McLean – Vice President for Facilities and Real Estate

Jason T. Perlioni – Vice President, Investments and Chief Investment Officer

Paul Pineau – Vice President and General Counsel

Dwight Raum – Interim Vice Provost for Information Technology & Chief Information Officer

Lainie Rutkow – Senior Adviser to the President for National Capital Academic Strategy

Fritz W. Schroeder – Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations

Alicia Wilson – Vice President for Economic Development

Christy Wyskiel – Senior Adviser to the President for Enterprise Development

Deans and Directors

Fred Bronstein – Dean of the Peabody Institute

Christopher S. Celenza – Dean of the Zanvyl Krieger School of Arts and Sciences

Ellen J. MacKenzie – Dean of the Bloomberg School of Public Health

Christopher C. Morphew – Dean of the School of Education

Virginia Roach – Executive Director, Center for Talented Youth

Paul B. Rothman – Vice President for Medicine; Frances Watt Baker, M.D., and Lenox D. Baker Jr., M.D., Dean of the School of Medicine; Chief Executive Officer, Johns Hopkins Medicine

T. E. “Ed” Schlesinger – Benjamin T. Rome Dean of the G.W.C. Whiting School of Engineering

Ralph D. Semmel – Director of the Applied Physics Laboratory

Jim Steinberg – Dean of the Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies

Sarah L. Szanton – Dean of the School of Nursing

Winston Tabb – Sheridan Dean of University Libraries and Museums

Alexander Triantis – Dean of the Carey Business School

University Board of Trustees, 2020-21

Louis J. Forster, chair

Anthony A. Anderson, vice chair

Sarah B. O’Hagan, vice chair

William E. Conway Jr., vice chair, ex officio

James Anderson

Jeffrey S. Barber

Chaomei Chen

Renee Chenault-Fattah

Charles Clarvit

N. Anthony Coles

Blake Cordish

Susan Daimler

Ronald J. Daniels, ex officio

Mary Ann Dickson, ex officio

Andreas C. Dracopoulos

Roger C. Faxon

Taylor A. Hanex

Michael D. Hankin

Charles J. Homcy

John Hunter

Bahija Jallal

Solomon J. Kumin

Ethan D. Leder

Ross Margolies

William H. Miller III

Stephen G. Moore

Heather H. Murren

Karen B. Peetz

Anika M. Penn, ex officio

Michael Rosenbaum

Gary Roughead

Charles W. Scharf

Charles P. Scheeler

Mayo A. Shattuck III

A. J. Shechtel

William J. Stromberg

Ci-Ying Sun

Emeritus Trustees

Robert J. Abernethy

Leonard Abramson

Peter G. Angelos

C. Michael Armstrong

Norman R. Augustine

Janie E. Bailey

Lenox D. Baker Jr.

H. Furlong Baldwin

Jeremiah A. Barondess

Ernest A. Bates

David H. Bernstein

Paula E. Boggs

Aurelia G. Bolton

George L. Bunting Jr.

Constance R. Caplan

Ina R. Drew

Manuel Dupkin II

James A. Flick Jr.

Richard S. Frary

Sanford D. Greenberg

Benjamin Howell Griswold IV

Lee Meyerhoff Hendler

David C. Hodgson

R. Christopher Hoehn-Saric

Stuart S. Janney III

Jeong H. Kim

Donald A. Kurz

Joanne Leedom-Ackerman

Alexander H. Levi

F. Pierce Linaweaver

Roger C. Lipitz

Christina L. Mattin

Gail J. McGovern

Harvey M. Meyerhoff

Naneen H. Neubohn

David P. Nolan

Ronald M. Nordmann

Walter D. Pinkard Jr.

Joseph R. Reynolds Jr.

Brian C. Rogers

David M. Rubenstein

Mark E. Rubenstein

John F. Ruffle

Marshal L. Salant

Frank Savage

Rajendra Singh

Wendell A. Smith

Shale D. Stiller

Morris Tanenbaum

Adena Wright Testa

William F. Ward Jr.

James L. Winter

Calman J. Zamoiski Jr.

Former Chairs

Jeffrey H. Aronson

Michael R. Bloomberg

Pamela P. Flaherty

Raymond A. Mason

Morris W. Offit

George G. Radcliffe

13 views0 comments
bottom of page