top of page
  • Writer's pictureHopkins View

Celebrating Excellence: Johns Hopkins University's Notable Alumni

We take great pride in the illustrious individuals who have emerged from the halls of Johns Hopkins University. Among their alumni, JHU boasts visionary CEOs and groundbreaking scientists, renowned conservationists and esteemed authors, recipients of prestigious awards such as Oscars, Grammys, Emmys, and Pulitzer Prizes, as well as a former U.S. president.

A few of our notable graduates include:

  • Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, novelist

  • Virginia Apgar, developer of Apgar score for newborns

  • John Astin, actor

  • Russell Baker, Pulitzer Prize–winning columnist for The New York Times and former host of PBS’s Masterpiece Theatre

  • Manuel Barrueco, Grammy Award–winning guitarist

  • John Barth, novelist

  • Jeffrey Blitz, writer/director of Spellbound, Rocket Science, and Lucky

  • Wolf Blitzer, journalist

  • Michael R. Bloomberg, former New York City mayor; founder of Bloomberg L.P., Bloomberg News, and Bloomberg Radio

  • Carter Brey, principal cellist of the New York Philharmonic

  • Rachel Carson, biologist, ecologist, and author of Silent Spring

  • Richard Ben Cramer, Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist

  • Wes Craven, film director

  • Caleb Deschanel, cinematographer

  • John Dewey, American philosopher, social critic, and educator

  • Louise Erdrich, writer

  • Hallie Jackson, Chief White House correspondent for NBC News

  • John C. Malone, chairman and majority owner of Liberty Media, Liberty Global, and Qurate Retail Group; former CEO of Tele-Communications, Inc.

  • Victor A. McKusick, medical geneticist; author of Mendelian Inheritance in Man, the definitive source of information on human genes and genetic disorders

  • James McPherson, Pulitzer Prize–winning historian and author

  • Kweisi Mfume, former president of NAACP and current U.S. representative for Maryland’s 7th congressional district

  • Wes Moore, Governor of Maryland, author and social entrepreneur

  • Walter Murch, Oscar-winning film editor and sound mixer

  • Caryle Murphy, Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist, longtime international reporter for The Washington Post

  • Tommy Newsom, Emmy winner who was assistant conductor of the Tonight Show band

  • PJ O’Rourke, journalist, author

  • Sam Palmisano, former CEO of IBM

  • Awadagin Pratt, pianist; winner of the Naumburg International Piano Competition, 1992

  • Joanne Silberner, Freelance writer and 18-year veteran of NPR’s science desk

  • Lauren Underwood, Congresswoman representing Illinois’s 14th District

  • John A. Wheeler, physicist

  • Woodrow Wilson, 28th U.S. president

  • Abel Wolman, water treatment expert



bottom of page